Wednesday, 4 September 2019

Books You Loved: September Edition




Books You Loved: August continued to provide reviews of great books. Thank you to all. Here are a few that caught my eye:

Dorothy from The Nature of Things reviewed City of Girls by Elizabeth Gilbert.  Her review said 'the story of a solitary and strong, if conflicted, woman who chose to live her life as she saw fit outside the norms that were expected of women in her era proved to be a very worthwhile read … it's about an independent woman making a life for herself in the manner that she chose and doing the best that she can to live an ethical life without hypocrisy.' I really enjoyed this one. 

Twice in a Blue Moon by Christina Lauren was brought over by Elizabeth of Books I Think You Should Read. The post said 'With Christina Lauren’s signature “beautifully written and remarkably compelling” (Sarah J. Maas, New York Times bestselling author) prose and perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner, Twice in a Blue Moon is an unforgettable and moving novel of young love and second chances.'

The Last Book Party by Karen Dukess was reviewed by A Southern Girl's Bookshelf.  The review said 'The Last Book Party drew me in with the promise of all things literary and it didn't disappoint. We get a glimpse of this world but also so much more, Eve is a young woman who just wants to do what she loves, which is writing and being around all these great writers is something she could only dream of. However, this life she thought she wanted isn't so wonderful as she had imagined and realizes there has to be a better way.'

Finally, for the art lovers among you, Debbie from Different Time, Different Place Book Reviews brought us The Story of Painting by DK.  I've got this out of the library and am starting it soon.  The post said 'found this book a very informative and enjoyable read. I'd highly recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about art history'

Now on to the September edition.  There are no rules for this party.  The only requirement is that your post is about a book that you loved.

To add to the list just pop the name of the book (and your name/blog name if you like) into the first Mr Linky box and then copy and paste the url of your post about it into the second box. Mr Linky now also makes you tick a box.

I'll be pinning your links to this Pinboard to make it easier for you to check them out at a glance.  It also has links from previous Septembers…


19 comments:

  1. Thanks for hosting this every month. Happy September!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Posted two different links, one for each of my blogs. Enjoy your September readings, everyone!

    ReplyDelete
  3. hi tx 4 the enail, happy autumn

    ReplyDelete
  4. Now I am thinking of posting about a fav book I read in September, Little Heathens. I like this linky since I get lots of tips for books to read.

    ReplyDelete
  5. https://lsmoore49.blogspot.com/2019/09/this-tender-land-by-willian-kent-krueger.html

    ReplyDelete
  6. Thanks for the shout out. I'm glad you enjoyed City of Girls as much as I did!

    ReplyDelete
  7. I brought you two books so far. I may add another one.

    ReplyDelete
  8. What She Saw is by a new to me author. It’s a very good and quick read. I think most of you might enjoy it. It’s on KU also. She really needs more reviews if anyone is willing to read it and review it.
    https://lsmoore49.blogspot.com/2019/09/what-she-saw-by-sara-mcferrin.html

    ReplyDelete
  9. Another new to me author. I really enjoyed this book also. I would read the first one before this but you don’t have it. It just has things that you’ll understand in the second one. https://lsmoore49.blogspot.com/2019/08/the-missing-ones-by-edwin-hill.html

    ReplyDelete
  10. I couldn't link the book so am putting it here for September
    The Diary of a Bookseller by Shaun Blythell
    www.musingsfromsrilanka.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  11. Hello Carole, this month I have linked in the mythological fantasy Runemarks by Joanne M Harris, historical fiction A Lady of the Rivers by Philippa Gregory and the children's classic A Little Princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I usually try to mention a ficitional book but I had to mention a non-fiction this month. What a brilliant book about what our future could be.

    ReplyDelete
  13. HEARTS OF FIRE is non-fiction accounts of 8 women from different countries who were persecuted for being Christians. I didn't realize how widespread Christian persecution is until I read this. It also inspired me to donate my extra Bibles.

    ReplyDelete
  14. My husband and I both liked THE ESCAPE ROOM a lot! It's a thriller.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Done. Thanks for the shout-out!

    ReplyDelete

Your comments are most welcome. I have currently disabled anonymous comments due to unwanted spam from one person who is using different names to make sexual comments about an actress. Cheers